Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Penticton Peach Classic Race Report (WTF2long): What a Hydrosloth does to cope with a non-wetsuit swim
Quote | Reply
Data Collection Day
How I ran my way to the podium at the Peach Classic
A SATO Hydrosloth Race Report

Lead In: No expectations, no cry

After my big let down at the Oliver Half I wasn't too happy. I decided to enter just three days before the race. No big emotional build up. No real taper. Best off all NO EXPECTATIONS, since it was the first time I had ever done the Peach Classic.

I have been doing triathlon since 1990 and have done about 12 sprints, 30 Olympic, 40 half ironman, nine Ironman, and 1 UltraMan. This year in an attempt to get fast, I hired Jonathan Caron as a coach and was averaging 10 workouts per week for a total of around 13 hours of training. I was uninjured and healthy for the previous four weeks. No excuses there! Three days before the race I did our cycling club's weekly ten-mile time trial. The conditions were quite windy and I was about 30 seconds off getting a personal best, so I was pretty happy with that.

Equipment: Same as it ever was

Nothing new here really other than after about ten years of using a old style HED 3 tri-spoke, I went even more old-school and used a 25-year old Rolf Vector Pro as my front wheel. I wanted to see if I could ride more aggressively in crosswinds and on sketchy downhills than with my tri-spoke.

Pre-Race Preparations: The party starts now

Our daughter and her boyfriend came down to Penticton to join us for the John Fogerty concert the night before the race. It was us, however, who were partying like rock stars before the concert. A typical Okanagan sunny Saturday afternoon meant hours of fun on our massive floatie anchored in Skaha Lake complete with a healthy assortment of beverages.