Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
PC's question
Quote | Reply
I have been following the various discussions on power cranks with great interest and amusement for a while. I think I understand what a realistic expectation is regarding improvements from using these, but what I'm not clear on is what amount of work (training time) is required to reap the benefits of these? I currently ride about 2-3 times a week for an hour on the trainer, and then a long ride outdoors on the weekend. Is it simply a matter of putting the PC's on the bike and continuing with my normal training (after some adjustment period) or is there additional PC-specific training required above and beyond my normal allotted training. Given my finite time available for training, I don't think I could add significantly more time to my training plan for these, but if using them is transparent to my total training hours I'd be interested in utilizing them.

Mr. Day- I'm no pro, not by a long shot. I'm a 34 yr old 2nd year triathlete doing my first IM this year, with aspirations of qualifying for Kona in 2-3 years. If you are interested in sponsoring a MOP'er I'd love a free pair of PC's :-) I'll unabashedly rave about your product on this forum if you can help get me to Kona! Heck, I'll even drive to Walnut Creek to get 'em!
Quote Reply
Re: PC's question [jkatsoudas] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Two or three times a week and one long weekend ride is perfect! You don't need to add ride time to get the benefits...just ride the PCs the same amount of time you normally ride. You won't be riding the same distance, for a while, but, ride as much as you can. The first few times on the PCs will wipe you out fairly quick.