Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Osgood Schlatters
Quote | Reply
I’d like to about other adult’s experiences with OS. I have it in my left knee and it has bothered me since last summer (when I really focused on increasing my ftp). I have a hard time squatting down to pick something up off the floor. I try to stretch my quads but if literally feels like someone is stabbing me in the bump below my kneecap. I also use ibuprofen and Voltaren. Nothing seems to work.

I can still bike and run (with a little discomfort) but not enough to make me stop. I had taken three weeks off since my last race, yet the pain is still the same. I just wanted to hear about other’s experiences or suggestions before I make an appointment to see a doc.

Team Zoot
Quote Reply
Re: Osgood Schlatters [jeepguy2358] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Hmm. I had this when I was a freshman in high school and it was extremely painful but the doctors weren't worried it was going to develop into anything worse. I ran through it when I could stand the pain and rested when I couldn't. Downhills were the worst.

Now one of my older sisters also had it. She was a swimmer and not a runner. It was similar for her until she got into a car crash and tweaked her knee in some way that aggravated them. She ended up developing a pretty serious calcification or something right there that needed to be operated on and removed. I'm pretty sure it was still technically some kind of Osgood Schaltter though. Even for her though that was junior/senior year of high school. I was mostly under the impression it was common in kids who are still growing.

Benjamin Deal - Professional - Instagram - TriRig - Lodi Cyclery
Deals on Wheels - Results, schedule, videos, sponsors
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
jeepguy2358 wrote: