Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Open letter to Dev (and others) why do you continue to cycle after a life altering crash?
Quote | Reply

Dev,

First off, I am a long time Dev fan and I have enjoyed reading your posts over the years. I have learned a lot from you and you are always a gentleman.

I recall several years ago you had a very bad cycling accident while racing somewhere in Europe (I believe Switzerland). I read with interest about your very long journey back. While I hope I am wrong, I suspect you never fully recovered from your injuries. Despite this, you still bike. In fact, you recently posted you hope to cycle 10,000 kilometers in 2019. My question is why? Knowing that if you continue to bike, you will crash again, why do you continue?

I ask because recently I had a bad crash and I am all but certain I am done cycling outdoors. I am just not willing to take the chance of crashing again.

I am 59 and have been lifting, running, cycling, and swimming my whole life. Until my accident, I was in excellent shape. While not fast by ST standards, I completed a full IM each year from 2007 through 2017 (11 starts, 11 finishes).

Then eight weeks ago things changed in a hurry.

On January 13th (as bad luck would have it), I was riding alone on a closed path an hour before sunrise (I had two big lights). Less than 1.5 miles into my ride I hit a deer while I was going 21 mph (thank Garmin for the data). The deer must have jumped out of the brush. When I first saw it, the deer’s head was about two feet from mine. I literally could have touched the deer’s eye. I can still see it clearly. I had no time to do anything. I went down hard and couldn’t get up no matter how hard I tried. So I just laid there waiting for help. I did not have my cellphone. One of the many dumb things I did that morning.