Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

OT what are engineers doing in the sports arena?
Quote | Reply
I feel like I'm going through my late 20s crisis here! :)

I studied electrical engineer for my undergrad and masters (wireless networks) and have been working for a large data storage company for the past 8 years... for 7 years in research and development and in the past year as a technical consultant (just trying to get a little taste of business and working directly with customers/sales ppl). It's definitely very different and have to travel a lot which interfers a great deal with my ironman training (so keeping my priorities straight, I'm starting to look for a new job!). Jokes aside, it's just not fullfilling and I feel there's something missing. So I've been thinking... and trying to find what's out there for engineers in the sports arena? I would love to work for some company such as Polar, TImex, Adidas, Garmin, etc or some company I could match my engineering background with my passion for sports (running and triathlon in particular).

Any thoughts what engineers are doing in the sports field? I just thought this would be a good place to vent and brainstorm...

Any ideas?

Thanks for reading and I would appreciate any good inputs ;-)

Andrea.
Last edited by: torito: Jun 27, 06 5:57
Quote Reply
Re: OT what are engineers doing in the sports arena? [torito] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
It's not what you are looking for, but the best place to find a sports related engineering field is in auto racing. If not the best at least the most plentyful.

Of course if you went into that, your training time would really go away. Some folks I know who work in that field (especially the engineers with NASCAR teams) never see their house, let alon have hobbies.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Timex in located in Connecticut. Nice area. Lots of triathletes...