Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Newbie Help...Please
Quote | Reply
Hey all, I'm new to the tri world and am planning on purchasing a tri specific bike shortly. My background is in swimming and running so I figured I would add the biking and give tri's a shot.

Now for the questions. I'm 5' 10'' tall and am going to get fitted this weekend for the first time. One of my main questions has to do with 650c vs 700c wheels. Whats the difference? Does it make a difference based on the type of bike or persons size? Just curious. In the end, I know the most important thing this to get a bike that fits me and not to fit me to the bike, but I need some help. Thanks to everyone as I have been a lurker for awhile.

Joe
Quote Reply
Re: Newbie Help...Please [runnyc] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
650c or 700c- the $64 question.

Basically, it is a question of weight distribution and torso length with some influence from femur length and even foot size.

I have been "married" to 650c wheels at 5'9" and about an 80 cm. inseam and 160 pounds dressed to race. My torso length mandated 650c's and I could tell I was faster on them, especially on a technical, hilly course where the difference really became evident.

I did a number of expereiments with 700c tri bikes from QR and Cannondale and never acheived the performance on the road, in the real world, that I could get on a 650c chassis. On the Computrainer I could reproduce identical performance numbers but out in the real world the 700c bike was like trying to drive a semi-truck in a Formula 1 race. It was big, sluggish and dumpy feeling.

Prior to IMNZ a combination of factors including inadequate Shimano gearing for 10 speed drivetrains (no 54 or 55 tooth rings)and concern over the pavement condition made me re-open the 700c files.