Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

New Frame choice
Quote | Reply
I'm looking for advice on frame selection. I'm an MOPer, 6'3, 225, started two years ago with an entry level Fuji with 650 wheels. I usually ride about 22mph on flat courses. I want to upgrade this winter. I'm trying to decide between an Elite aluminum frame or a carbon Bp Stealth, using Ultegra with 700c Aerospoke wheels. Bunnyman, this part is for you - Areospokes are clincher only, but I have zero experience with tubulars, I heard these were great for Clydesdales, and I'm not winning anything. Elite is local for me, I hear about great service from them, with Bp, I have to order the frame and have a local shop build it. I was leaning toward Elite, but frankly, the Stealth is about $400 less and looks cool (it's a non traditional frame, looks kind of like a Lotus except the body is lower). Any thoughts?

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote Reply
Re: New Frame choice [frogonawire] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Can't beat the Stealth in the cool factor but do realize that it has a road frame geometry which may or may not be an issue for you. I believe the Stealth that won IM Canada was rode with a forward seat post.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Hmmm, tough call, so I'll quote the party line: Get measured by a good fitter. Don;t be swayed by what "looks cool". At 6'3" and 225 pounds you have some requirements that are unique. A good fitting is going to be key. A thousand Slowtwitchers are rolling their eyes, but all I can tell you is: Stop comparing bikes, start comparing fit.

Tom Demerly
The Tri Shop.com
Quote Reply
Re: New Frame choice [Tom Demerly] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply