Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Need a pep talk...
Quote | Reply
So I’ve been browsing a few threads recently that have beaten me down mentally a bit and I’m looking for some commonality among peers I guess.

Short back story is that I’m new to Tri, started last year with 2 Oly distances. I’m a 42yr old male, 5’6” 150lbs. I had 0 background in swimming, cycling, or running really. I’ve run a bunch a half-marathons and 1 full marathon over the past 3-4yrs, but VERY slow...my fastest half was 2:10 or something similar.

I’ve been a little disheartened lately when I see these threads about current cycling FTP and fastest 5k/1k running times, etc. I see numbers you guys/gals are posting like 300+watt FTP’s and sub-20min 5k’s, etc. and I cry a little, lol. I know I’m only a year in but I put in 10-15hrs of training a week and have a legit coach I’ve worked with for the past 4+ months. I guess I’m just wondering if a person like me who wasn’t a high school swim star, a college cross-country stud, or an avid cyclist for the past 10yrs has any chance in hell at putting up decent times in future Tri’s? I’m at like a 200watt FTP and 8:30min/mile threshold pace for running. I’ve managed a 1:57 half-marathon last month so I’ve definitely improved there and my swim is probably my strongest at about 1:35-1:40/100 meter pace typically but my cycling FTP hasn’t moved much over the past months.

I’m rambling but I’m just intimidated and hoping that someone on here has some wisdom to impart on me to help me feel like I’m not the slowest Triathlete to ever live...
Last edited by: BallsJesus: Jul 7, 20 20:38
Quote Reply
Re: Need a pep talk... [BallsJesus] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I definitely feel your pain. I look at pro times and as an aspiring AGer in 35-39, I feel like I have a ways to go.

But, I’ve made consistent progress since starting this tri focus 2 years ago.