Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
NYC or South Florida for Triathlete Lifestyle?
Quote | Reply
Hello all! Long time/first time here on ST.

I am a native California airline pilot who is contemplating changing my "domicile" from the Los Angeles area (but I live in Sonoma County) to either Fort Lauderdale or NYC. Need to find the perfect place to continue my lifestyle as a competitive age group triathlete. In NYC I’ve enjoyed running in Central Park, but haven’t been able to find a decent aquatics center. I’ve discovered the one in Flushing isn’t too receptive to visitors unless you’re a resident. As for cycling, I’ll bike on Zwift. Not a fan of the cold either, but I’ll be able to fly Caribbean trips and open water swim while down there. As for South Florida I’ve enjoyed running and biking along the A1A, and enjoy the long course swim at the Swimming Hall of Fame. Warmer weather in winter too but less Caribbean layovers in my seniority. Any thoughts? My home is in Santa Rosa in Northern California and this decision is not an easy one for me, as I have it all right here in my back yard. I race the Santa Rosa half and full IM every year now, as well as ride LGF in Oct, but would have to mix it up and probably try IM Lake Placid if I find myself back in NYC, or some of the Florida races. I plan on keeping the home in NorCal too, as my heart will always be in the west. Occasionally I will commute, so hopefully two-thirds of the month will still be spent in Santa Rosa. The wife and kids are not too happy about moving back east, so I'll take one for the team. Any thoughts/feedback are greatly appreciated!
Last edited by: Flyswimbikerun: Aug 12, 19 18:16
Quote Reply
Re: NYC or South Florida for Triathlete Lifestyle? [Flyswimbikerun] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
OMG you are crazy

Eric Reid AeroFit | Instagram Portfolio
Aerodynamic Retul Bike Fitting