Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Mont Tremblant (140.6) Bike Advice - Tri v. Road
Quote | Reply
Greetings All,

I'm looking for some advice on how best to configure my ride for IMMT (140.6) this august which will be my first full IM.

Context:
I am a bigger triathlete (read: fat). 5'5" and 230...maybe 215 by race day. I have been doing tri's for about 8 years and have done one HIM each year for the past five...times getting better and better...just about 7 hours. I'm a MOP swimmer, a decent cyclist, and a weak runner.

Cycling FTP is 200.

Uncertainty:
I am unsure which bike to use in IMMT this year: my road bike or my tri bike. My tri rig is faster no doubt, but for climbing...i'm not sure the down hill gains would be worth the time lost on the up hills. I've done a few test runs on local hills (rides were just about 40 miles and just about the same feet per mile climbing on par with race) and so far the conclusions are:

1. Heart rate is lower on Road bike (duh...position is less aggressive...lungs are more open...more quads used)
2. Power is just about the same on both bikes with power on road bike being 2-3 watts more
3. RPE (rate of perceived exertion) is that my toosh is more comfy on road bike and I generally feel more powerful on road (duh...compact cranks are easier on legs on hills)

It should also be noted that while I am a capable bike handler, the chances of zooming down the hills at IMMT in the aero bars at 40+ mph is unlikely. I'd move to the bullhorns.

Bike Options:
Felt IA 10 w/ SRAM etap - 53x11 & 11x27 (standard)
Felt Z 85 w/ Shimano 105 - 50x34 & 11x28 (compact)

Wheel Options (i own all five):
Planet X 50mm carbon clinchers front/back
Flo 90mm carbon clinchers front/back
Flo Disc

At this point I'm kinda leaning toward road bike...maybe with the 90/90 combo or 90/disc combo. Your thoughts?

Thanks!

J

---------------------------------------------------------------