Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Marathon before 1st FeMan
Quote | Reply
I have heard different stories from different people. I have signed up for my first ironman (GFT) this october. I have never run a marathon before and had planned to do one this spring but life got in the way. How important do you think it is for me to do one. If I do one the only one that I can logistically do is on Sept 1st (The GFT is on Oct 25th). Otherwise I could do my own marathon with my wife supporting me at anytime.

My background: I am a former swimming coach so the swimming comes very easy to me. I have done a few century rides. I have done three 1/2 irons, and have much of the summer to train (I am a teacher). My longest ever run was 21 miles in prep for one of the 1/2 irons.

So should I do a marathon??

Jon Bergmann
http://jonbergmann.com
Quote Reply
Re: Marathon before 1st FeMan [JBergmann] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Doing a marathon only seven weeks before an IM sounds stupid to me. Maybe you are kid who would bounce back in a week or two, but that approach is risky. Having your wife support you at anytime sounds like a great plan whether you are talking about a marathon or anything else. If you do it, you should do it soon.

Doing a marathon is good training, especially if you are hoping to run the whole marathon leg of the IM. Never having been able to do that however, maybe I am not the best person to ask. If I get to mile 15 in Lake Placid this year and I am still running, I will be thrilled.
Quote Reply
Re: Marathon before 1st FeMan [ajfranke] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Fom the title of your post, I assume you're a chemistry teacher? If so, do you know what you do with a dead chemist?
Quote Reply
Re: Marathon before 1st FeMan [Tom H] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
no I don't. I will bite

Jon Bergmann
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply