Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Looking for reviews of Desoto Skin Cooler Short sleeve Top
Quote | Reply
Anyone wear it in a race?

I am looking for a decent top to use for sprint, international races this year. Races are in May, July and August. I live in Southern MD.

Thanks.

Years ago I used to wear a nike dri fit sleeveless tight fit top.
Quote Reply
Re: Looking for reviews of Desoto Skin Cooler Short sleeve Top [littlefoot] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I've been racing in De Soto stuff exclusively since 2005. Fantastic kit all round. In the last coupe of years I swapped from 2 piece to 1 piece short sleeved suit. That is made of the same Skincooler fabric, just stitched to the bottom.

Was great in the heat (high 20s) for the run leg of a half ironman, but equally was fine at the start of the bike of the ironman where the temp was down about 14 - I was concerned I'd get too cold, but was fine. Only time I struggled was I had some digestive issues that meant I vomitted all my nutrition out and ended up out on the run course later than I expected - and so it was starting to head to dusk as I finished just before 12 hours and was getting chilly in that last hour of 'race walking'.

Well thought out pockets, good detailing on the zip, and the materials last a long time if you don't wear in a chlorinated pool. I've finally binned the 2005 shorts 2 years ago, but can't tell the difference between the 2011 and 2015 ones - both look almost new despite being used for 3x weekly trainer sessions and as undershorts for all my running for years.

One final point, due to living in NZ I had to pay $250 duty on the kit. And I did that gladly in preference to using other brands. I've tried a couple, and they get used under my wetsuit sometimes, but that's all. Just don't work as well for me.