Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Lack of Swim Fitness??
Quote | Reply
I was reading through the recent swim thread regarding the single biggest thing that improved people's swim times and I wanted to get some feedback on a similar question. I have been swimming for almost three years now since I got into triathlons. I swim with a local masters group, but, unfortunately, due to time constraints I can only get to the pool about 2 times a week during the winter and then during the summer I stretch that to include 3 swim sessions usually one pool and two open water. Currently, I avg about 1:55-2:00/100 yards 2:00-2:05/100 meters.

Now I know this question will be hard to answer without a video, but I am in the process of getting one but just haven't had a chance to get the goPro in the water yet. Anyways, I have noticed that in my warm up sets I am almost always around 1:40 to 1:45/100 yards and then that pace drops off as I get deeper into the sets and the longer intervals. Then today I had a decent swim where we did 25's and, although I wasn't "sprinting" the 25's I was pushing it pretty hard and really focusing on pulling harder than usual and trying to keep up the pace. Attached are my garmin splits for the session.

Clearly it looks like I have the ability to swim faster and my warmup sets always seem to indicate that I can go faster, so my question is, is this indicative of a swim fitness issue? I know I have tons of areas to improve my technique, but I am assuming that my technique isn't horrible if I can put up some faster times. Or is this impossible to answer without video? If you think fitness has a lot to do with it is there anything that you find helps maintain technique as you fatigue?

Thanks in advance for the feedback.

Quote Reply
Re: Lack of Swim Fitness?? [cdoug55] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply