Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Kona accomodation
Quote | Reply
It's my first time to the island and am wanting accomodation for 6 people for race week this October. Any recommendations for where to stay? AC is a must. Will have a car but want to be within easy reach of town.
Quote Reply
Re: Kona accomodation [TriathlonVR] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
What do you mean when you say 6 people?

- Mom, dad and some kids
- Mom, dad, kids and grandparents
- Casual tri friends wanting some space
- Three couples

It makes a difference on what to recommend.

FWIW, I've done the mom, dad and kids route twice and we stayed at the Kona Makai condos that had a master bedroom, loft bedroom and pull out couch. Worked great for us. Kids don't need a lot of space.
Quote Reply
Re: Kona accomodation [logella] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Good point. There will be 6 adults (3 couples) so double rooms would be preferred
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
So you’re likely looking for a 3 bedroom. I’d look on something like VRBO for a house down Ali’i Drive.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I had a lot of trouble trying to book something through VRBO. A lot of units are tentatively reserved for someone or have minimum stays or special rates that aren't listed. After striking out on 15-20 inquiries, I ended up contacting konacoastvacations.com. They are a broker, I gave them what I was looking for and they found some options at reasonable prices.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
We booked a condo for a very reasonable price, considering 12 nights, on VRBO back in late Nov when airline tickets came available.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply