Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Knot in back....help pls
Quote | Reply
Maybe someone has had this and can help.

A week ago I developed a knot while swimming. It has slowly migrated to the area between my arm and my shoulder blade (upper back) and it basically "pulls" pulls on my tricep. I've been taking it easy obviously and not swimming which for now isn't a big deal. I am 5 weeks out from Eagleman, so the stress/timing of this thing isn't helping.

I regularly go to the chiro and have upped my visits. I had a massage last weekend. I've been stretching/icing/heat/ibuprofening. I have also been using the Theragun on it. In addition I went to one session with a holistic guy on Weds who did the cupping and some accupuncture (and go back today).

Anything I am missing? Any hints.

Thanks in advance
Quote Reply
Re: Knot in back....help pls [klorene] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Just one person's experience. I'm no expert. Stretch everything else. Stretching my chest alleviated muscle pain and tightness in my upper back. I *think* that, for the 23 hours a day out of the pool, tightness in complementary muscles stressed muscles in my back.

Hamstrings and quads, for me, are the same. Sore hammies actually mean my quads need loosening.

I know you said you're stretching, so you may already be doing this. Just thought I'd offer my experience.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
This isn’t a knot per se. You are experiencing traditional neck related problem. And you’re describing a common referral pattern from the neck (regardless of whether or not you actually have any pain in the neck). Massage, stretching, theragun etc won’t help and may worsen your situation depending on what you do. The origin of your problem is overwhelmingly likely to be your neck. My bias is for you to see a McKenzie credentialed physical therapist. You can get this resolved in a couple of visits. Make the appointment.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply