Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Key things to upgrade on old road bike
Quote | Reply
I have an old Nishiki Silohuette that is currently my commuter bike. I also have a Cervelo One (old style) that is my racing bike. I would like to be able to do a few group rides etc this summer and do not feel that my Cervelo is the right bike for me in that situation. I have never done group rides before and am not that skilled a rider so I am not comfortable using my Cervelo under those conditions.

I have not touched a thing on my bike since I bought it in 1990 (other than a bi-annual tune up by my LBS0. It has down tube shifters, wires run outside the frame, basic handlebars and big honking wheels (I think 32 spoke but about twice as wide as my Cervelo's wheels). The chain has been replaced but that is all.

MY questions is: What should I upgrade and in what order is the most effective to upgrade the bike? Wheels, drivechain, handlebars etc. Obviously there is a budget restraint otherwise I would buy a new bike. Thanks.

BTW, I am not a bike guy so please dumb it down for me.

"which is like watching one of your buddies announce that he's quitting booze and cigarettes, switching to a Vegan diet and training for triathalons ... but he's going to keep snorting heroin." Bill Simmons, ESPN
Quote Reply
Re: Key things to upgrade on old road bike [Yarf] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply