Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Input on my semi-slammed postition. Please help.
Quote | Reply
hi. this is me on my road bike-turned tt bike. i'm 5'10, long torsoed, with approx. equal tib-fib vs femur length. my background is in running, so if i err on the side of high saddle-ness, that's why. i am a high cadence rider. the mountain pedals and shoes are being replaced as we speak (with the appropriate adjustments coming to the saddle height as well). the saddle is slammed back, with the tip 5 cm behind the bb. first test ride felt good--pretty stable and quite aero (if you can 'feel' aero, that is).

One question is--when i rode this way, i tended to slide a tiny bit towards the nose of the saddle (which i know is common in an aero position). my question is that if i'm supposed to be "slammed" back on the saddle, should i tilt my saddle slightly nose up to prevent the forward slide (and maintain the slam aero-ness), or should i be happy if my body is cool on the saddle nose (and possibly lose some aero).

http://galleries.mtbreview.com/...bikeposition0006.asp

any input is VERY appreciated.
Last edited by: rossman: Feb 24, 04 9:48
Quote Reply
Re: Input on my semi-slammed postition. Please help. [rossman] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
It looks about the same position my wife rides her road bike. She's just as fast slammed on her road bike as she is steep on her P2K. She's also a good runner and runs just as well off either position. We've tested this on the same route over a hundred times.

She has long legs/short torso and a longer femur to tibia ratio. I've got short legs/long torso and equal femur/tibia ratio. I've also tested the slam and it just doesn't seem to work for me.

Here's a good article about the slam from Gary's site.

http://www.timetrial.org/slam.htm
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Here's your picture.

"your horse is too high" - tigerchik
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply