Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Increased Sleep and correlation of HR
Quote | Reply
Had a tough time finding anything online about this, most of it is around sleeping HR and not what I’m looking for.

I’m a notoriously bad sleeper 5-6 hours a night most of my life. Closer to 7 since I started training 2 years ago. But that’s the best I’ve been able to do consistently. That is until the last couple of weeks.

I’ve been at my inlaws outside of the city where it’s both darker and quieter. Coupled with the fact I haven’t been working, I’ve been sleeping 8-9 hours a night. I’ve never done this at least not for the last 20 plus years.

Now cut to the HR. I’m noticing my HR data act a little different than I would have anticipated. My resting HR and I believe my max HR are higher with increased sleep. Garmin is pretty terrible at tracking my resting HR it’s been clocking me around 50-53 compared to my normal 45. (In both instances I will have periods of time during the day where my HR will sit at 38-42 for a couple mins but it never takes that as my resting but that’s a separate issue)

I ran a track workout today and got my HR to 180 between at a little quicker than critical velocity. Rep ranges were between 3-6 mins which is a spec longer than they should have been but I felt completely fine and in control the whole time despite being close to my max of high 180s.

So what gives? I’m usually topping out at 172-175 max at this pace. Volume and intensity has been pretty low this month running as I shifted more hours to the bike.

Would it make sense that my apparent max HR has increased or am I not as fit due to decreased volume?
Quote Reply
Re: Increased Sleep and correlation of HR [MiRoBu] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
When I get more sleep my RHR goes down, and my max doesn’t change