Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Implications of inflated CTL value on Training Peaks?
Quote | Reply
I'm relatively new to triathlons so I hired a coach last year. He said you don't worry or touch the numbers (thresholds) and that my job is just to do the workouts. I started training for IMSR and 2 weeks out my CTL was 170! I thought I was a gifted athlete, until some people said my numbers are just inflated. Training worked and I was able to complete IMSR in 7 months. I mentioned to him I think numbers are inflated, and maybe should look at adjusting thresholds. He agreed and when I started training for IMCZ and we did 2 TR ramp tests, and used my HIM mile time as threshold numbers. Once again though, last week my CTL was 186 (two weeks out from IMCZ). He does ease up some weeks so I can absorb some TSS. On the other hand when I get a TP or Garmin new FTP notification and mention it to hime, he tells me to leave the numbers along on TP. Granted sometimes I do an extra bike ride, or swim with buoy and fins that might mess up the numbers, but I can't stop wondering if I'm undertraining since my CTL is so high. Here are my ramp rates.

Questions:
1) Is this something I should worry about or since the goal of finishing and improving my times I should just ignore it and continue as planned?
2) Am I technically undertraining since my thresholds are set at a value which causes my CTL to inflate?
3) Can overinflated numbers lead to injury?
4) This is the 2nd time and it's happened and he doesn't seem too concerned by it, should I worry?
5) How important is it to have accurate numbers when a coach is doing the programming?

IG -frebay | Strava
Last edited by: frebay: Nov 20, 19 3:54
Quote Reply
Re: Implications of inflated CTL value on Training Peaks? [frebay] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply