Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

ITB Syndrome
Quote | Reply
I sent this email to Dan last night and he asked me to post it on the forum to get some feedback from you guys. The pain is low on the outside of my knee and begins after four miles of running, until by mile five walking is the only option. I'm a nineteen year old student who generally recovers fairly quickly; the rest of the message should speak for itself.

-------------

Let me begin by saying that I fully understand that you are not a doctor, you cannot be responsible for anything you say that could be construed as medical advice, and that in any sort of official capacity you know nothing about ITB. But the reality is that you likely know more than 99% of doctors in the world - and 100% of the doctors I’ve met - about ITB. So, from a triathlete with a pain in the outside of my knee, please help me out.

As far as I can tell, my symptoms match those you describe in your December 9 article on the subject. I’m currently trying to increase my mileage gradually, but I’m still limited to about four miles at a time. I’m an overpronator, running with hard orthotics in Asics Kayanos. I can bike until I’m blue in the face and do a full one-leg squat, but my knee really tightens up running. My real question is how long this will take to heal. I’m scheduled to run Grandma’s Marathon on June 21, and I’m curious whether this is realistic.

Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time.
Quote Reply
Re: ITB Syndrome [caleb] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Caleb,

I'm just now recovering (recovered?) from ITBS. There are several very helpful threads in this forum (do a search ITBS or IT Band or ITB). Let me summarize what I learned.