Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

IM flat tire paranoia - tube recommendations?
Quote | Reply
I've been having some bad luck with flats lately and I'm getting paranoid about the possibility of another during IMMT in two weeks.

Looking for some quality tubes for the ride. Any recommendations?
Quote Reply
Re: IM flat tire paranoia - tube recommendations? [eisforurgent] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Maybe check the rim tape? I've been riding FLOs with Conti GP4000s and Q-tubes for 4-5 years now, and think I've had 2 flats total.
Quote Reply
Re: IM flat tire paranoia - tube recommendations? [eisforurgent] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Latex tubes are the fastest.

Practice changing tires/tubes and the fear will go away.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
If properly installed, tubes make little difference in flat protection. Latex tubes can help prevent some pinch flats, but take a little more care to install properly, which as already mentioned can cause flats.

Anytime you get a flat, you should determine the cause. Sometimes it's difficult to do on the side of the road, but if you can't figure it out then, you should do it at the end of the ride. That will greatly decrease the chance of another flat compared to simply swapping out the tube and continuing to ride on. Saving the flat tube and finding where the hole (or what type of hole) in the tire is will help immensely.

If you're constantly getting pinch flats, that could be a sign that you're either not installing your tubes properly, you're not running enough tire pressure, or you're simply not avoiding cracks, potholes, or rocks that you should be avoiding.

If you're constantly getting punctures on the side of the tube that faces the rim, then your rim tape might need to be adjusted or replaced...or you might have something sharp in your rim bed.