Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

IM confidence to doubts
Quote | Reply
Last week did a half Im for training in 6 hrs (for those who saw that post). Today in Montana did PEAKS to Praires..9 mile run followed by 43 mile bike then 22 mile kayak. Dis the run in 67 the bike had a brutal head wind,avg. 21.5mph for 2 hr then kayak in 2 and one half. In the bike at 30 miles had cramps in quad and hamstring. Here is what is depressing,a couple guys just smoked me on the bike. They only train a couple days a week while I have been doing 9 to 11 hrs aerobic a week for two years.I have no previous sports background beyond 2 and ahalf years ago( I am 43)To train so hard for so long and just get smoked,...well,..depressing.I have a IM in 9 weeks.I was looking at 13 hrs,now ??To just finish is "yes" quite a accomplishment.To work so hard just to find out,yes you can finish but you will never be even a middle of the packer,well takes the wind out of your sails. Well, I am still going to do this,Have any of you had your doubts like this. I am new to Tri"s and compitition. Is this just a learning curve. It seams at 43 I am always competing against people that have been athletes for years.....I read once that when you start tri"s that no matter what your age you will see improvement on timesfor 5 yrs..? Is this true. Its funny but after reading posts of how the race fees are high, this is the reason that will not let me quit my goal today. Thanks for listening to the rant Ken
Quote Reply
Re: IM confidence to doubts [Kenney] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
ken,