Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
IM brand events are fairly priced. Local tris are grossly overpriced. Thoughts?
Quote | Reply
I’ve done about 6-7 IM branded 70.3 races but I’ve been doing local tris for like 13 years. Just my opinion, but at a 70.3 I feel like I get a $250-300 experience on race day. Always well organized, no shortage of volunteers or aid, solid atmosphere.

My issue is with local races. When I pay $85 for a sprint race or $110 for an OLY I usually feel like I got a $30 experience. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll continue to race all my local events but I was just contemplating this issue today. People generally complain about IM brand prices.
Quote Reply
Re: IM brand events are fairly priced. Local tris are grossly overpriced. Thoughts? [triguy86] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Come race in Britain.
It's the polar opposite.
Quote Reply
Re: IM brand events are fairly priced. Local tris are grossly overpriced. Thoughts? [triguy86] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Depends on what you're looking to get out of a race. If you like the village, the swag, etc... then Ironman events are right up your alley. If you're looking to race and have fun just while on course, local tri's fit that really well.

I think the problem occurs when I see the local tri's asking the Ironman prices, because if I'm dropping the $300 it might as well be an Ironman branded event with all that comes with it. I had flirted with the idea of doing Miami man or Oil Man and they both cost more than a normal 70.3. Maybe I'm crazy, but I can make that jump mentally for some reason. Same way I can't fathom dropping $700 on Alcatraz.