Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

I'm thinking about getting Gatorskins! Looking for tire advice with puncture resistance 1st priority and rolling comfort & aero etc 2nd
Quote | Reply
Tell me if I'm a good candidate for them...
1. I ride along part of route 301 in southern Maryland. It's inevitable. Lots of glass, wire, nails, and tractor trailer tire debris

2. I currently use Bontrager hardcase tires that are great, but they are slow rolling and can actually stand up by themselves. I've had amazing success with them. 0 flats in multiple years.

3. I just started riding again after 2 years off. I decided to try and run a Conti 4000 on the front only. On the 2nd ride I ended up with a nasty slice through the tire. Got home and noticed the odd black thing on my tire, and found that somehow, the tube had pushed through the sliced tire, but shockingly didn't flat. So, I'm back to my Bontrager hardcase tires again.

I'm looking for a softer, faster rolling tire that will hold up to the crazy crap on a main highway that I come across.

*I have 3 sets of wheels, and am also open to sizing help. I have mavic cosmic carbones 23 wide, Flo 30s, 25 wide and my wheels that came with my 2015 trek speed concept. They too are 25 wide. I am using my old 2006 specialized Allez and like the look of the mavics. Would I get a smoother ride if I jumped to a 25 tire, or would it be similar to the 23 I am experiencing. I actually am impressed with Bontrager wheels with regard to the smooth soft ride, but again, I'm using the hardcases. I rode the flos 2x and got a flat (Conti 4000)and I struggled to change the tire, and took them off and haven't ridden them since.

If you have any other tire recommendation let me know
Quote Reply
Re: I'm thinking about getting Gatorskins! Looking for tire advice with puncture resistance 1st priority and rolling comfort & aero etc 2nd [littlefoot] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply