Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
I’m fat and I’d like some help (running, puppies, life)
Quote | Reply
(Backstory to serve as some excuse making and very modest humble bragging): at the end of 2015 I competed at Ironman 70.3WC in Zell Am See - an absolutely gorgeous and amazing venue - and “retired” from the sport. I had been competing as a “high performance” athlete for the past 12 years. I define(d) "high performance" as a year round athlete, someone who considers training as part of life, and life is built around training - job, social life, friends, relationships, etc. 4 years of rowing D1 in college (following 4 years of HS rowing + basketball), 3 years of post-college rowing trying to get traction in the national team selection process, and 5 years going full tilt in triathlon. By 2015 I was mentally exhausted. 70.3WC would be swan song and I hoped it would go out in a really positive direction. It didn’t.

2016, in my late 20s, moving in with my lovely beautiful (now) wife, I really struggled to find my identity independent of Sport. I threw myself into work, and with more disposable income came more dinner dates, more nice beers, way more nice whiskeys, lots of NY Rangers games, etc. I gained 35 pounds, going from an average race weight of 185 (having gotten down to 177 for IMFL in 2012) to a peak of 220. I started lifting weights and going to CrossFit type classes, because I missed comraderie and lifting and being strong. Maybe 5-10 of those pounds I added were muscle, but most were fat.