Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Post deleted by dfquigley
Last edited by: dfquigley: May 8, 18 4:04
Re: How to verify garmin data is not tampered with? [dfquigley] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Surely, time for the swim will be the giveaway? It's going to be a very slow 350m compared to your normal 700m after all. Common sense would suggest that 3:16/100m is slow. Show them some other swim data.

Trust me I’m a doctor!
Well, I have a PhD :-)
Last edited by: PhilipShambrook: May 8, 18 3:04
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Your swim time doesn't seem out of line compared to other swim times you've posted on garmin. Seems like a pretty douche bag move on their (race director??) part to accuse you of not doing the distance without any real proof - ie. a volunteer that counted your laps short.
Even then, at our local sprints with indoor swim, if there is a small discrepency between the athlete's count and the volunteer's count, they go with the athlete.....bit of an honor system. I think they figure it would be obvious if someone swam 750m 1:30 faster than normal. That doesn't seem to be the case with your time.

IMHO, tell them to f*ck off....
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I can't answer your question but folks here are often stalking results from other races, possibly training events. So can you show your prior swims that support a trend of your ability to swim the pace you did on race day?

To breathe, to feel, to know I'm alive.
Quote Reply
Post deleted by dfquigley [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Its a lot more difficult to tamper with this kind of file than what people are implying. I am sure its possible but .FIT files aren't something average Joe is going to be able to easily to change in a reliable way because the various data fields are all linked. The thing to note here is that what they are accusing you of tampering the file in most convoluted means possible by changing the total number of strokes you took.