Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

How much of your bike time do you spend on your race bike?
Quote | Reply
If you are riding 3-4 times a week do you do all of your rides on your TT/Tri bike. I find my Zone 1 and 2 rides are much easier to complete on my road bike and my race intensity rides are done on my TT/Tri bike. Do you all spend more or less time on your dedicated race bike?
Quote Reply
Re: How much of your bike time do you spend on your race bike? [bikerdude] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
25% on the TT bike, 75% on the road bike
Quote Reply
Re: How much of your bike time do you spend on your race bike? [bikerdude] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Having 1 bike, which is a time trial bike, means that all of my training and racing is done on the same machine ...... I've been racing for 13 years and don't figure that I need to ride a different geometry in training than what I race on. Maybe if I had a road bike to compare it to I'd think otherwise but I don't think that my wife would go for it. I figure that my priority for a second bike to train on would be a mountain bike anyway for a variety of riding and for crappy weather.
Quote Reply
Re: How much of your bike time do you spend on your race bike? [Allan] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Dave Scott just commented on this in the latest issue of Inside Triathlon.

He recommends that you train in your base period on your road bike and then build on the tri race bike. His theory is that by you need to build your glutes (butt) first. You utilized more of your glutes on a road bike than a tri bike.

On the other hand, Chris Lieto attributes his strong bike to training with roadies. And I'm sure he's not doing it on a tri bike. He's probably using that compact Litespeed he used at Cali 1/2.
Quote Reply
Re: How much of your bike time do you spend on your race bike? [TriRABI] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply