Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
How many bikes in your arsenal?
Quote | Reply
So I'm new to the sport, and I haven't gotten my first TT/tri bike yet...but I'm considering a Specialized Shiv (actually, I'm hoping my wife gets it for me for my 40th birthday in August :). Currently I have a Trek road bike I've been racing du/tri on, and a Specialized Rockhopper for MTBing and XTERRA racing. Anyway, I have a couple questions for the community at large:
1. How many bikes do you have in your stable?
2. Do you train primarily on a road bike, or your TT bike?
3. Did you ditch your roadie in favor of the TT?
4. Do you see the need for three bikes?

I'm the type of person that likes to have one tool for each purpose, but it seems to be a funny line between what to use the road and TT bikes for.

Anyway, input is appreciated!

- John
"Have courage, and be kind."
Quote Reply
Re: How many bikes in your arsenal? [fitknight] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
As much as you can afford.

.... in your case, as much as your wife allows you to have.

.........................__0.............0
...................._.-\ <,_.........</\_
.....~_.o^,....(...)./.(...)......._/\...
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
1. 3 (2 tri bikes, 1 road bike)
2. I train on all 3 of them. Had a tri-bike on my trainer for 7 months, but just put my road bike on the trainer a couple of weeks ago.
3. Nope, love my roadie and it's a nice change up.
4. Absolutely. Especially when one is in the shop, packed, or shipped (TBT) to a race.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I have a road, tt and mountain. I race all three (Or at least will be racing mtb when the races roll around again in the fall).

Most of my training is done on the road bike. I've been riding the tt a bit more lately as it's a new bike and position for me.

And the proper number of bikes is n+1, or alternatively written as s-1 (Source: Velominati, The Rules, Rule #12)

John