Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Hoka One One negative effects?
Quote | Reply
I am wondering whether anyone has experienced pain after switching to Hoka One Ones. I recently picked up a pair of Bondi B's (at a great price) and was really excited to run in them. I had been running in Asics Landreth 7's (discontinued, but like a Cumulus) and was experiencing some knee pain. I have worked over the last two-plus years to alter my gait and cadence and am a midfoot striker and run at a cadence of about 180. I am 51 years old, 6'1", 225. I have been running regularly for about four years, along with cycling and weight training, so I am in reasonably good condition and fairly strong. I run 20-30 miles/week. The first two runs in the Hokas were great, but not very long (3.5 and 4.5 miles). I felt like I was floating and was in love. Four days later, I sent 5.5 miles. My hips started hurting about mile 4, and I barely finished. It was a hot day, so I wrote it off to that. I ran eight more at distances ranging between 3.5 and 4.5 miles with no problems, and then yesterday ran another 5.2 and felt the same hip pain that I had on my other "long" run. I have not had knee pain, which is a plus, but this hip pain is something that I have never had before. I know that Hokas are touted as being good for longer runs, including ultras, and I am not anywhere near that (nor do I plan to be), but I am a little concerned that I can't get past 5 miles in them. What have others of you experienced?
Quote Reply
Re: Hoka One One negative effects? [agingvter] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
i went to hokas about 3 months ago - liked running in them but afterwards my legs ached in ways I never felt before - in general joints felt much better, feet hurt less - but yes some hip pain and general soreness/aches.