Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Hip / Knee replacement
Quote | Reply
I'm doing a study on athletes that have had hip or Knee replacements and have continued to race or train regularly. I have several racers that have completed Ironman distance events with hip replacement and I'm involved with a new type knee repair that should help keep athletes going at a high level of performance for many years. Your input would be greatly appreciated, e-mail me at jcobb@bicyclesports.com
Quote Reply
Re: Hip / Knee replacement [John Cobb] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
John:

Well, you've got me curious. I am an orthopaedic surgeon, and have suspecialty training in joint replacement, and know of nothing like you're describing (ie a replacement type procedure that you should be doing an Ironman on). I do know of a number of procedures that have been promoted as such, but with virtually no evidence or track record, and generally to the dismay of the arthroplasty community.

More details please.

Deke
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Holy cow! Are you kidding? Two words: Bo Jackson. Granted, there is a lot more twisting involved in baseball than running or biking (maybe swimming), but I haven't met a single orthopaedist or, possibly more importantly, biomedical design engineer who would recommend that type of training and competition on a joint replacement (especially hip). Sure physical activity is important to recovery from the joint replacement, but the phrase "physical activity" is usually modified by the word "moderate." It's very important to distinguish those who might have completed an IM on a new joint from those who were recommended to do so by their medical professional: zero (I'll take the Vegas odds on that bet).