Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
High CdA in TT Position
Quote | Reply
Hi fellow triathletes!

I started training for my first olympic triathlon about 6 months ago.

The event will be held in september this year.

At the moment i am trying to figure out why im so slow on the bike, although i think my position is not that bad, considering that it is only a road bike with aero bars.

I am 175cm tall and weigh around 69-70kg. my ftp is around 220 (yeah not that high sadly) watts and i am aiming for around 190-200watts at race day.

My current training course has pretty average surface, but is a 8km straight road with low traffic - pretty sweet for testing stuff.

MyWindSock is rating my current setup at between 0.30 and 0.32 CdA - which is horribly bad as i think.

Please find a picture of my current position below.

I tried alot of things with saddle height and bar angles but after a few tests, this position seems like the fastest for the possibilities i have with this bike.

Still i think i could go alot faster for the power i put out.

My last session from today, gave me a CdA of 0.306 at an average speed of 31,1 kmh with around 170watts.

I don't know where i am loosing so much speed - most of the people i talk too have horrible positions, they dont tuck in their shoulders, head up in the air and still get CdA around 0.26 to 0.27.

Do you have any suggestions what i could try out to be faster?

thanks in advance :)

greetings
Last edited by: blinzi: Jun 28, 20 12:46
Quote Reply
Re: High CdA in TT Position [blinzi] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have ridden my road bike with no clipons (I own a TT bike) for plenty of metric centuries at 50 feet per mile and 20mph on only about 185w.

Look into your tires. At 200w a 15w tire and tube change is massive. Or a brake rubbing.

Also, even for olympic distance that % ftp seems ambitious.