Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Help please.
Quote | Reply
Hey, I'm new to all this but find it fascinating. I know nothing about bike and need some advice. What bike should I buy? I've been doing triathlons for three years on a beat up old mountain bike and now want to break down and buy a great bike road or tri for under $4k. 2004 Cervelo P3? Felt B2? Cannondale Six13? I'd love some help here guys. Yes, I am indeed clueless. Thanks.
Quote Reply
Re: Help please. [castroscribe] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Well first decide on a road or tri bike. Only then can you really compare bikes.
Quote Reply
Re: Help please. [stltricoach] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks. Okay, I love doing triathlons so I'd say that's the route I'm heading although I thought the Cannandale Six13 was pretty amazing.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I ride the R3000 and have ridden the six13. They are very nice road bikes. I'm sticking w/ Cannondale for a while.

Do you do sprints or longer tri's? I do some local sprints on my road bike w/ clip-ons, but always do oly and longer w/ the tri bike.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Stltricoach,

I have to ask how did you like the Six13? To answer your question, I do sprint triathlons mostly but am doing the Superfrog half Ironman in Coronado California in September and want a great bike for that. It is flat and fast. Any thoughts? Am I forgetting anything?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
six13 was really nice, and light of course. I did a demo ride, so I didn't get too many miles on it, plus they didn't have my size since I ride a 48cm. I'd be interested in getting one, but my R3000 only has about 1,000 miles on it right now, maybe in the fall/winter.

I used to work at a shop so I've ridden a ton of bikes. You need more than a test ride to tell the difference in bikes IMO. In your case anything will be a huge improvement over a MTB. If you've got the cash and want a prime road bike, get the six13.