Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Help! I need to get faster swimming - Critique my stroke (Updated with even more bad videos of me swimming in my seizure causing suit)
Quote | Reply
Calling all Slowtwitchers. I need your help getting faster. A little bit about me. I've been swimming seriously for the past 4 years with a masters team. I'm in the pool about 3-4 times a week and usually average around 10-13k yards a week. I can do sets leaving on 1:30 so my stroke isn't terrible. It's just not great. I'm a decent biker and runner but I just can't get the swim to be competitive. I'm giving up too much time on the swim to try and catch people on the bike and run. About the only time I can really compete in a half is when the swim is "aided" (1st in Augusta 40-44, 3rd in North Carolina) But when it's not I'm off the podium. I gave up 10 minutes to the fastest swimmer in the 40-44 age group at Raleigh and no matter how fast I bike/run I'm not running that down.

Swim at Augusta was 26 min
Swim at North Carolina 28 min
Swim at Raleigh 36 min.

So, please critique away, but any recommendations on drills to focus on would be greatly appreciated or how to improve the stroke would help. I do a ton of fist drills, one arm, touch and go, finger tip drag. I have been focusing on bending the elbow through the stroke, but when I think I'm doing this, it goes back to straight arm.

Thanks.