Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Help! Calf problem/running shoes
Quote | Reply
I am recovering from a calf strain from 2 months ago. Almost there, but during every run after 10-15 minutes I get a very sudden pain in my calf (the one that has been strained) with no pain whatsoever prior to it happening.

I have found that running on grass seems to put less strain on my calf but hard surfaces are unavoidable. I have been using Asics DS Trainers now for about 15 years as they have (until now) provided the right combination of cushion and support.

I need a recommendation for a more cushioned shoe with moderate support (I overpronate), any suggestions? And please don't ask me to go minimalist, I tried that a few years ago and ended up with an achilles injury that took 3 years to heal. I've been on Asics so long I'm not familiar with the whole Hoka/cushion thing, my ageing legs need some help.

Thanks for any shoe suggestions
Quote Reply
Re: Help! Calf problem/running shoes [nickag] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Quote Reply
Re: Help! Calf problem/running shoes [johnnybefit] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
thanks certainly fits my symptoms - it's more like a spasm/cramp that comes out of nowhere and I'm in my mid 40's. Although I would still like to experiment with shoes a bit - Dan wrote that article in 2009 and alot has changed in the shoe segment since then
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I've dealt with the whole calf attack deal a few times. No one is really sure why it happens but I believe it has less to do with shoe type than ou would think. For me, I make sure to loosen up my calf muscles with The Stick before every run. I roll over my calves really firmly. Also, calf raises about every other day (incorporating eccentrics with these as well). So far, no ore calf problems for years (knock on wood)