Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

HR monitor training
Quote | Reply
Hi there.

I am a beginner triathlete and I am following workout plans provided by this website. Right now, still in week 1, I wonder if a Polar would help me. I´ve read different articles about HR training, including HR zones to guide several training goals such as speed, long runs etc.

What do you experienced people think. HR monitoring is needed?

Thanks,

Gus
Quote Reply
Re: HR monitor training [gutopersonal] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
A heart rate monitor is definitely a worthwhile piece of equipment in which to invest. Monitoring your heartrate is an excellent way to make sure you are working hard enough during your hard/interval workouts and going easy enough during your LSD/recovery workouts.

I think it was a (very fast) Kenyan runner who said, when asked why Kenyan distance runners perform better than American runners, that American runners run their hard workouts too easy and their easy workouts too hard.
Quote Reply
Re: HR monitor training [gutopersonal] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply