Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Greasing Bolts
Quote | Reply
From time to time, I see mention of greasing threads on bolts before install. When and where should I be greasing threads before install?
Quote Reply
Re: Greasing Bolts [Traket92x] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Traket92x wrote:
When and where should I be greasing threads before install?
Yes.
Quote Reply
Re: Greasing Bolts [MattyK] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have been greasing every thread on every bike I own for 30 years with Phil Wood Green grease and I have never found any bolt that loosened prematurely or did not come loose when I wanted it to.
Quote Reply
Re: Greasing Bolts [endosch2] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
endosch2 wrote:
I have been greasing every thread on every bike I own for 30 years with Phil Wood Green grease and I have never found any bolt that loosened prematurely or did not come loose when I wanted it to.

^^^^This.

Use Phil Wood (or any polyurea-based grease...they are usually green, blue, or red and semi-translucent vs. lithium-based which is a creamy white). Apply a small dab to the threads and rub it with your finger to cover all the threads with a light coat. The purpose is to both prevent binding, and to protect the metal from moisture.

Note: Some bolts come with blue threadlock on the last few threads; do not grease these.

ECMGN Therapy Silicon Valley:
Depression, Neurocognitive problems, Dementias (Testing and Evaluation), Trauma and PTSD, Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
Quote Reply
Re: Greasing Bolts [Traket92x] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Traket92x wrote:
From time to time, I see mention of greasing threads on bolts before install. When and where should I be greasing threads before install?

Its a real double edged sword.
There are lots of dissimilar materials + dampness and sometimes road salt etc too.