Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Giving blood?
Quote | Reply
Hey there! I was recently reminded that my blood type is O- which apparently means any blood type can receive it. I also have a friend who is giving blood, I think every two months or so.

So, as a way to ’give back’ was thinking about becoming a blood donor, its not far to the hospital and I could do it on the odd lunch hour.

BUT, what is the impact on training? Are you effectively giving away hard earned hematocrit, red blood cell count etc? Like an altitude camp, but in reverse? What do med experts here say?

Thanks
Quote Reply
Re: Giving blood? [scandinavianguy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm not a medical expert but do donate fairly consistently. I try to time my donations for the week following a race whenever possible when I'll be taking it easy anyway, and/or at least 6 weeks prior to a race. (I once read that donating could hamper your training/recovery for up to a month after but don't remember the source or know if there's actual merit to that, that month period just stuck with me.) Personally I might feel a little off for the next few workouts following a donation and purposefully take those easy, but more than a week out I don't really notice anything and don't miss intervals or anything like that.

I'm training and racing as a hobby and figure giving blood is far more important in the scheme of things, so that justifies any negative impact to training in my mind.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
As Jim above me said, the biggest issue for me is timing my donation so it's not in the middle of a big block or too close to a race. I can definitely feel it the day after a donation, but will make sure it's on a easy day. I'll get my workout the day of the donation done in the AM. I go once every 7 weeks or thereabouts. I also have O-, and high hemoglobin, so it's all a win-win.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply