Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Generic Paraffin Wax vs bike-specific Wax?
Quote | Reply
What is one losing by using a generic paraffin wax instead of a bike-specific wax? I know there was some data out there, but I am unable to find it right now. I’m debating using regular paraffin wax for training chains and using the bike-specific stuff for a race chain (if it’s warranted).

@floathammerholdon | @partners_in_tri
Quote Reply
Re: Generic Paraffin Wax vs bike-specific Wax? [cloy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I use Gulf wax.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I’ve been using generic candles for a couple of years, works pretty well but I’m sure the purists or experts will complain. But it’s super clean and easy and wear seems low
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Wax is wax. In theory, some of the additives from bike specific stuff reduces friction, but I would guess there is way more improvement from regular oil-based lubes to wax than there is from the additives. I bought a huge block of parrafin wax from Michaels.
For me waxing chains is about avoiding the black mess and not having to lube every ride during the summer when the dust is like flour. If I happen to go faster, well, that is a bonus.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
cloy wrote:
What is one losing by using a generic paraffin wax instead of a bike-specific wax? I know there was some data out there, but I am unable to find it right now. I’m debating using regular paraffin wax for training chains and using the bike-specific stuff for a race chain (if it’s warranted).

Probably not that much difference, but given that a pound of Molten Wax is something like $20 and will last 1 - 2 years, is it really that difficult a decision?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
The diff. is <0.25W.

Page6: https://www.ceramicspeed.com/...e-tests-combined.pdf

ECMGN Therapy Silicon Valley:
Depression, Neurocognitive problems, Dementias (Testing and Evaluation), Trauma and PTSD, Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)