Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Fuji Club?
Quote | Reply
Well, the price was right.

I liberated an old Fuji Club from my parents garage. This late 80's model had been ridden maybe 10X total. After the cleaning I gave it, it looks great. I was thinking of making this a dedicated tri bike. Sure it weighs a bit more than I'd like, but it runs great.

I have limited experience with bikes, so I'm having a little trouble with the tune up. The Fuji web site doesn't have info on stuff this old and won't get back to me (reminder: Fuji Club, late 80's probably, not older than 1990 with downtube shifters!). It has Suntour components. Does anyone have ideas on where to get info on Suntour maintenence? It has strange looking adjustments for friction and index shifting, and triangular adjusting bars. I am just not comfortable f-ing with it. I was able to adjust the fder, but the rder and/or cassette has a strange rubbing sound I can't seem to get rid of.

With downtube shifters, is it difficult or even possible to upgrade to aero bars and bar end shifters?

With my long torso, and the seemingly short top tube, I think I'll have something to play with after the aero bars and forward seatpost.

Any thoughts on upgrading the downtube shifters and Suntour maintenance? Anyone own one of these bikes?

Thanks in advance

Burns
Quote Reply
Re: Fuji Club? [Burns] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
You don't have to spend a lot of money on a bike to do triathlon and have fun. My first two years were on an old 12 sp and by the time I was finished with it, the old bike could do 95% of what any new bike can do.