Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Fitness testing
Quote | Reply
I have a standard test that I do to determine running fitness. On a treadmill do 60 minutes at 8 miles/hour on a 2 percent grade. I have been doing this test once a week for the past 2 months. My average HR for the test has been gradually dropping over the weeks (I am using a Polar S710 to measure HR). Over the hour test my HR slowly increases. I.e. If I split the 60 minutes into 4 15 minute splits my average HR for each split is as follows: 0-15min = 156bpm average, 16-30min = 160bpm average, 31-45min = 163bpm average, 46-60min = 165bpm.

What causes this gradual increase in HR? What does it mean is it good/bad/just natural?
Quote Reply
Re: Fitness testing [74] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
What you experience is called "cardiac drift": The gradual rise in heart rate at a given constant level of exertion.

It is the limiting factor for all aerobic activity. With training the "drift" becomes less pronounced and more delayed.

Keep up the testing,

CM
Quote Reply
Re: Fitness testing [MTL_QC] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
It could also be due to increasing dehydration with time.

--------------
Frank,
An original Ironman and the Inventor of PowerCranks
Quote Reply
Getting tired [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
It is called getting tired among us less educated athletes. This process is very pronounced with me in the heat. The same level of exertion will slowly lift my HR from 150 to the high 160s. At that point I stop unless I am specifically planning a killer workout. I think hydration helps, but I have not really tested it.

I wish I could maintain that pace at that HR for that long.
Quote Reply
Re: Fitness testing [74] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Short answer: all the posts so far are absolutely correct - its natural - don't worry.