Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Fit again.
Quote | Reply
Ok, so I am going fishing here. Of those who claim that they have received " a bad fitting" somewhere, please elaborate on exactly what you describe as bad. I seem to remember somewhere, this forum possibly, probably Tom's post, that fit changes with fitness level. Or rather the more limber/conditioned you are the more aggressive a position you would seek. I have been racing for a while about 13 years, working in retail bicycle sales the same ammount of time, and selling quite a few bikes. Tri bike fitting seems to have come to the forefront lately. I remember when QR put out a video tape that explainded tri bike fitting. I need to find it and review it. Anyway, I really see no exact consensus to how a tri-bike should fit.

I ride a forward angle seatpost on a road frame and have good results. Most of what I have sold over the years has been entry level bikes that we have tweaked/fit for triathlon racing. I have yet to hear of an unhappy customer that did not like our "fit". We do stock the following tri specific bikes, Felt s22,s33, Cervelo P2k,and Cannondale. Maybe it is just our market, but trispecific bikes do not move like road bikes.

I am now very interested in the fist classes and tapping the knowledge of the industry's leaders.

Anyway, if someone feels like they get a bad fit, why do they not go back to where they bought their "fit" and ask for a refund? Because, this is why, their body changes, and their fit needs to change. But, they paid good money for that "fit" and it makes them upset.

I feel fitting someone is a dynamic process which involves a good working relationship with your local bicycle shop. Your shop can help you decide what is the most comfortable and fastest set-up. I know I like someone to make things simple sometimes and tell me how to do xyz, but sometimes I have to just figure it out myself.