Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

First Race
Quote | Reply
Any suggestions on the distance of my first race? It will be next summer before I can actually compete, so do I do a short distance race or go crazy and train (to survive, not race) for a full IM?

What were your first races? Comments? Regrets? I'm a newbie looking for advice. Thanks.
Quote Reply
Re: First Race [goditshothere] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I did two local tri"s(on a borrowed bike)here in Montana. Run,Bike,Kayak.(first time I kayaked) Due to no races in this area amd looking for a challenge,my first real race was an IM. I had run a marathon(slow)previosly. My thoughts were this. I wanted a challenge. I am slow and never was a gifted athlete so winning was really out of the question.Consequently what I was looking for was a "can I do this?"Signed up for IMCDA last sept 1 (though I had a 8-9hr week aerobic base already)and enjoyed CDA June 29th. Now I am hooked on this stuff. Fun,challenging and the people are awesome....including on this forum...I am hooked. Doing a marathon in Sept. Our local Tri,"Peaks to Prairies"Start at the base of the Beartooth mnts..Run 9 bike 43 Kayak 23. Then maybe a half ,sprtint and CDA again. Welcome to the forum.....By the way I was like you. Signed up before I had a bike,just got mine at the end of March this year. ....My suggestion ..Go for whatever you wish. Just train hard,give the race respect and learn the rules...Good Luck Kenney
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
A lot depends upon your current level of fitness and experience. Have you ran a marathon before? Biked a century? Are you a long distance swimmer? If so then you could try an IM, but if you haven't done much of any of the sports you should be looking at a sprint tri to see how you like it.