Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
FREESTYLE 2:3 BREATHING PATTERN
Quote | Reply
A couple of times I have mentioned a 2:3 breathing pattern in freestyle, and as promised, I am linking everyone to a short video clip on youtube so you can actually see what I do to get more oxygen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-bHqFVuwgM

Hope this clears up the subject. It is really not hard to do, once you get the hang of it.

Gary Sr.
Quote Reply
Re: FREESTYLE 2:3 BREATHING PATTERN [gary hall sr.] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I am new to swimming and for me the hardest part is the breathing. Do you exhale in between the two breaths when your face is in the water or only on the third stroke?

Swim, Forrest, Swim. Bike, Forrest, Bike. Run, Forrest, Run.
Quote Reply
Re: FREESTYLE 2:3 BREATHING PATTERN [IntheHunt] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Exhale each time. You want (and have time to achieve) a full breath each time, even though you are breathing to successive sides, then holding one stroke.

Gary Sr.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
GO!
Quote Reply
Re: FREESTYLE 2:3 BREATHING PATTERN [Black Plague] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I may not be new to swimming, but I am to editing.

Gary Sr.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
does this really work when say swimming a mile?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
As a former competitive swimmer, I can't seem to wrap my mind around this.

When would you suggest using this breathing pattern? On long open water swims? What about in a race, say a 500 freestyle? During masters practice?

Thanks.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Gary what's your experience with teaching this to novice / less experienced swimmers?

I can see that you manage to breathe 2/3 and hold a decent body position (at moderate pace) but it seems to me that for less proficient swimmers who know less about their body position / core it might be a recipe for disaster (the old snake / sagging mid section problems).

thanks.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Go...GO!