Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Ever take a break and come back stronger?
Quote | Reply
I may just be fishing for hopeful anecdotes, but I'm curious to hear if you've ever cut your training significantly and ended up better off for it.

My situation (somewhat abridged, happy to provide more details) –
In December 2019 I injured my right Achilles and have had a string of running related injuries since: left IT Band, right calf, left groin/hip flexor, a busted up toe. I'd think I was past one injury, conservatively build to ≥20 mpw running, and something else would go bad. Looking back I haven't had a carefree run in over a year.

I kept up my fitness throughout, first with a lot of swimming. Then my pool closed in March so I started riding more than I ever had before, including a solid 5 months averaging >15 hours/week on the bike. I'm starting to wonder if underlying fatigue from all the extra riding is part of the reason I've struggled to return to running. Regardless, I'm tired of being injured and I want to get back to consistent, pain-free running.

I think what I might need is a legit break to let my body fully recover and reset. To preserve some fitness I'd still ride a few times per week but otherwise cut my training a lot. My goal would be to stick to reduced training until everything feels fully recovered (currently right calf and left groin/hip flexor). My hope is that once everything resets I'll be able to start running consistently and pain-free again and, ideally, I'll be faster in the long run because of it.

So, anyone take a concerted break from training (whether injury/work/kids/etc.) and come back stronger because of it?
Quote Reply
Re: Ever take a break and come back stronger? [Northy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply