Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon/bikes used?
Quote | Reply
I noticed that a lot of the bikes used for the Escape from Alcatraz didn't look like pure triathlon bikes. I am no expert. Could anyone tell me why? Is the course not flat enough? How steep were the angles on the bikes compared to the Normal 78 degrees of a pure tri-bike.

I have a decent road bike with shorty aero bars and was wondering how I should set my bike up for these sprint/olympic triathlon.
Quote Reply
Re: Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon/bikes used? [KYROCKET] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I did Escape 2 years ago and used a Colnago Dream with Profile Jammer GTs and a thomson center mount seatpost with my saddle 1cm. farther forward than my traditional road position. I had STI shifters. It was perfect. The bike course at Alcatraz requires a little different breed of bike. The course is very crowded, there is a lot of high speed cornering and some ass-knockin' short, steep climbs. A 78 degree seat tube angle bike might not be the best choice on that course. My Colnago worked pretty darn good on that course. In general: Flat and fast= tri bike. Hilly, technical and crowded with lots of weird pavement changes and bizarre turns= some version of road style geometry modified for the course. That's my take. The ultimate bike for that course? The Yaqui Mariola DL.

Tom Demerly
The Tri Shop.com
Quote Reply
Re: Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon/bikes used? [Tom Demerly] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I think a DL is what Simon Lessing rode to victory this year.
Quote Reply
Re: Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon/bikes used? [mn_leaf_fan] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have no idea if Simon Lessing's bike had DL geometry or not, but I think he was riding an Ocotillo with a carbon seat stay. At least that's what I remember Ves telling me when I picked up my Ocotillo. Simon's bike definitely didn't have an aero down tube.

Rusty
Quote Reply