Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Electronic Shifting - Di2 or ETap and Ovalized Chain-Rings
Quote | Reply
Any thoughts on success of electronic shifting with either Di2 or eTap and the use of ovalized chain-rings such as Rotor Q-Rings?

Steve Fleck @stevefleck | Blog
Quote Reply
Re: Electronic Shifting - Di2 or ETap and Ovalized Chain-Rings [Fleck] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have zero experience with ovalized chainrings or with SRAM ETap, so take this with a grain of salt. But I've used Di2 from the very beginning. Given my experience, I think shifting with Di2 would be, if anything, better than with cable operated front derailleurs. Why? Because every shift is forceful and quick -- better than cable operated front derailleurs when shifting under power on steep climbs or in sprints. That's a guess, but an educated guess. If I wanted ovalized chainrings, I wouldn't hesitate to use them with Di2.
Quote Reply
Re: Electronic Shifting - Di2 or ETap and Ovalized Chain-Rings [Fleck] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I've been using Di2 with Rotor QXL as well as Rotor inPower cranks with great success for the past 3 years. I wouldn't change a thing. Nothing to do with Di2, but as an added precaution I installed a chain catcher as well, more to protect the frame than anything.

Kiwami NA Racing Team
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I've been using Di2 with oval chainrings for 5 years now, not a single issue, never dropped a chain.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Also using QXl chainrings with Di2 and works just fine. It did take me some effort to get it to shift right on my Tri bike though. But that is more related to the bike being older and designed around 10 speed. So I had to modify my braze on hanger to get it right. Basically had to grind of quite a bit of material off the bottom outside corner because the back plate of 11 speed front derailleurs (mechanical or Di2 Shimano) would butt up against it in the small chainring position.