Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Electrical/Bike computer Q
Quote | Reply
Let me first say I am no Electrician.

I have a Cateye Astrale8 (wired cadence and speed) and want to run the wires internally, so with a quick cut it was fairly easy to fish it through the frame.
Now here is my question: I thought I would be able to just splice the cables back together (and I have) but I don't seem to be getting any readings.
I tested my splicing abilities on an old bike computer I had lying around and everything was fine.
The only difference between the computers was the type of wires.
The Astrale seems to have smaller (copper??? again I am no electrician) wires, do I need some sort of special connections when splicing the copper wires?

Thanks
Ewan

Ewan

-------------------------

Quote Reply
Re: Electrical/Bike computer Q [_EH_] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
you may be SOL. I've never had luck splicing those wires. They run at such a low current that the resistance in the splice is often enough to kill the system. You may get it back up and running again by soldering the connection, but you're going to have to have some skills to pull it off.

sometimes you just have to eat the cake
Quote Reply
Re: Electrical/Bike computer Q [vortmax] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks, I seem to remember that is what Rappstar did when hid his SRM wires.
The problem with soldering is the connections are buried (or at least can't see an easy way to get at the connections) under plastic.

Well I guess it just might be a 36$ life lesson :-)

Ewan

Ewan

Quote Reply
Re: Electrical/Bike computer Q [_EH_] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply