Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
E-motion (or other moving) rollers
Quote | Reply
I am currently using an Elite Arion mag exclusively for all my bike training, I am wondering if I should make the leap for “E-motion” models. My trainer is good for intervals (not great for sprints), I Zwift using power from my QUARQ.
2 things that lack my actual trainer
  1. Sprint resistance. If I set the resistance to the max (selectable), it is very unstable a low power/slow speed. I have to go off the bike to change resistance too…
  2. Very hard to get up. Doable, but so unnatural.

I was thinking of getting a Elite Nero/quick motion or inside ride.
Last edited by: zambony: Feb 24, 20 4:11
Quote Reply
Re: E-motion (or other moving) rollers [zambony] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have been using inside rides for about 8 years. I love them. I use with a powertap wheel and lately use Zwift a lot. At 175 pounds with no added resistance, it gives me about 550 watts, so not great for sprints but good for anything else. Mine has a manual mag resistance unit, but you have to stop and dismount to change it, so I never use it.

I have owned smart trainers, but go back to the rollers. They are super easy to ride, my 15 year old daughter shares them with me, she had zero issues learning
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I have used both a Kickr and Inside Rides lately. I am looking to get back on a Kickr (need a new one as my very old first gen does not do thru-axles) because I just don't like doing workouts on the rollers. I can get up to VO2 watts pretty "easily" (about 4-4.5 watts/kg) but it takes a fair amount of cadence to do so and they are much louder than a Kickr. My rollers have no resistance unit.

ETA - I have done 1200w + sprints on the Kickr in the past with no issues. I would never attempt that type of sprint on the rollers.
Last edited by: jkhayc: Feb 24, 20 5:02
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply