Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Dumbest Thing You've Done in a Triathlon [zoomrunner] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Posted this one before, but to date nothing tops it.

I was a sophomore in high school. It was the first year of a local triathlon which has fortunately turned into the largest race in my area. I was a distance swimmer at the time, and being 16 at the time, I got tossed in the first wave with waves going about every 1:00 (they were't really sure what they were doing at the time as far as race organization goes yet). Knowing swimming was my strength, I figured I should capitalize on it as much as possible. Swam maybe the fastest 750 meters of my life, and being an decent swimmer, I came out of the water with about a 2 minute lead (and would later find out the 3rd fastest split by just 4 seconds).

Well, my hyped up brain says "Woah, you're in first place. You could totally win this thing!" (ignoring the looming 19 mile ride and 5K still to follow). So naturally I had to continue to push the gap and gain a bigger cushion in any way I could. So I sprint into transition, throw on my helmet, look down at the footwear and say to myself "F*** socks. Putting on socks with just waste time. Surely I can do the next 22 miles of this race without socks and any repercussions." I hop my Wal-Mart Maga 26" mountain bike (Don't worry...I had an extra water bottle cage on it) and my T1 time from water exit to mount was 0:44.