Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Dumb trainer to smart trainer
Quote | Reply
I’ve been using a dumb trainer with P1 pedals with TrainerRoad for about 5 years. Always been too cheap to make the move to a smart trainer.

I know it’s a matter of opinion, but that’s what I’m looking for, opinions on those that have made the move. Glad you did? Not that big a difference? I have no experience with smart trainers, but have read enough DC Rainmaker to get the gist. I’ve trained to full Iron distance with my current configuration. I’m usually somewhat competitive in my age group for local events. Just wondering if dropping $500+ is going to change my life.
Quote Reply
Re: Dumb trainer to smart trainer [Burhed] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I went from a Kirt Kinetic Road Machine with P1 pedals to a KICKR (with P1 pedals). I am hugely glad I did. The smart trainer is not a miracle worker-- I got to pretty solid power on the dumb trainer. However, it makes your workouts far more efficient and impactful. The change is that I do not have to hyper-focus on hitting the interval targets. The trainer simply does that for me no matter how fast or slow I may pedal. When I was getting fatigued or feeling weak on the old dumb trainer, I could slack off. On my current rig, I have to force myself to comply and I do hit the numbers. The mental and physical strengths that creates are huge.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Switched from dumb to smart 2 years ago. Also on the P1s. Bought a Hammer. I still log my power from my pedals for my indoor rides so TSS stays consistent (vs from the trainer). The P1s and my smart trainer are usually very close, but might as well keep the power source consistent between indoor/ outdoor.